Navigation schließen
  • Katharina Konradi (c) Markus Hoehn

Sun, Feb. 02, 2025, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

6th Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 7 in B minor D 759 “The Unfinished”

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Missa C minor KV 427 “Great Mass in C minor” for soloists, choir and orchestra

Dirigent: Kent Nagano
Sopran I: Katharina Konradi
Sopran II: Ida Aldrian
Tenor: Seungwoo Simon Yang
Bass: Jóhann Kristinsson
Chor der KlangVerwaltung
Choreinstudierung: Christiane Büttig
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Masterpieces do not necessarily have to be finished. “Why add to the gorgeous torso? “Even Michelangelo did not dare to add a head and legs to the Greek torso of the Belvedere,” said Mozart researcher Alfred Einstein, summing up the fascination of the unfinished in art. This concert program proves twice how attractive the open can unfold in musical works:
Schubert's seventh symphony creates enigmatic dream worlds in which darkness and madness meet waltz bliss and a Ländler who finds his way into film music, advertising and the legendary Smurfs has made. Mozart's “Great C Minor Mass” also contains freedom, genius and the appeal of the fragmentary. Having just married, he wrote the work as a thank you for the recovery of his wife, who appeared in the soprano role at the premiere in Salzburg. The music was considered rich and operatic by contemporaries - today it is celebrated as the highlight of Mozart's church music work.

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg

Buy tickets

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS