Navigation schließen
  • Kent Nagano (c) Claudia Höhne

Sun, Sep. 29, 2024, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

1st Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

György Ligeti: "Lux Aeterna" for mixed choir a cappella

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D minor WAB 109

Dirigent: Kent Nagano
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg
Vokalensemble LauschWerk
Choreinstudierung: Martin Steidler

The 2024/25 season, the last with General Music Director Kent Nagano, starts without instruments, but with the sound of infinity. In György Ligeti's groundbreaking "Lux Aeterna" from 1966, the LauschWerk choir sings with a maximum of polyphony: Soprano, alto, tenor and bass divide into no fewer than 16 voices to capture the "eternal light" in sound. "As a self-contained composition, 'Lux aeterna' naturally has a beginning and an end," said the Hungarian composer, who later taught at the Hamburg University of Music and Theatre for many years, describing his work. "And although the entire habitus of the music is static, gradual changes do take place. The idea of infinity is evoked, the impression is created that the music was already there when we did not yet hear it and will always continue, even if we no longer hear it."
Anton Bruckner's Ninth - one of the many ninth and last symphonies in music history - can be seen as a forerunner of Ligeti's music that dissolves the boundaries of form. The extent to which the old believer looked ahead to what was to come at the end of the 19th century is still impressive and deeply moving. A symphony for eternity. One that will last forever.

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg

Buy tickets

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS