Ballets by John Neumeier


Time After Time
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, 1936

Night Sketches
Dance Suite, 1923

Winter Ways
Concerto for Orchestra, 1943


  Béla Bartók
  John Neumeier
  Hans-Martin Scholder


World Premiere
The Hamburg Ballet, Hamburg, December 22, 1998


Original Cast
  Silvia Azzoni
Joëlle Boulogne
Laura Cazzaniga
Rose Gad
Heather Jurgensen
Elizabeth Loscavio
Anna Polikarpova
Adelá Pollertová
Alexander Auld
Jirí Bubenícek
Otto Bubenícek
Maximiliano Guerra (Guest)
Carsten Jung
Jacopo Munari
Alexandre Riabko
Lloyd Riggins
Ivan Urban


This evening with three ballets to the music of Béla Bartók brought together the Hamburg State Opera’s General Music Director Ingo Metzmacher and John Neumeier for their first artistic collaboration. Béla Bartók, one of the most important composers of this century, combines in his music strong emotions and potent atmosphere, with the rhythmic, melodic elements of folk dance. Without telling specific stories, the theme of each ballet is the music itself. The works chosen are "Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta", "Dance Suite" and "Concerto for Orchestra". Sets and costumes are designed by Hans-Martin Scholder.

Cazzaniga - Urban

go backprint